The Ohio State University Alumni Scholars Program Information for Incoming Freshman

The Ohio State University is located in Columbus, Ohio and was founded in 1870. It is the largest single-campus university in the United States and is currently ranked by U.S. News & World Report as the best public university in Ohio, among the top 150 universities in the world, among the top 60 universities in the United States, and among the top 20 public universities in the United States. Ohio State currently offers over 160 academic programs.

The Ohio State University Alumni Scholars Program (ASP) is intended to provide recognition and financial assistance to outstanding incoming freshmen. The Ohio State University Alumni Association coordinates the program with the Philadelphia Alumni Club (Philly Buckeyes).

The Philadelphia Alumni Club anticipates awarding Two Alumni Scholarship awards to incoming freshman. These awards are done in coordination with the University and are merit-based. The standards of selection for this award are:

  • Demonstrate academic merit
  • Demonstrating involvement in school and community activities
  • Show a sound interest and positive attitude toward college work

ScholarshipUniverse simplifies the process of finding and applying for internal and external scholarships at Ohio State. This platform hosts all alumni club scholarships. Apply and/or update your profile each year by The Ohio State University priority date for maximum aid consideration.

Log in to ScholarshipUniverse using your Ohio State username (lastname.#) and password. Need instructions for activating your username? Contact Buckeye Link, 614-292-OHIO, for assistance.

Further information on scholarships and Financial Aid at Ohio State can be found here. For questions, contact Leslie Smith,, 614-292-6576 at the Alumni Association.

To donate to the OSU Alumni Club of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Endowment Fund, visit our online giving page to make a gift.


Read updates from our past scholarship winners.


2021: Madison O’Neil, Peter Leibrandt

Madison O’Neill attended Phoenixville Area High School in Phoenixville, PA where she was involved in a variety of activities. She ran cross country and track all four years of high school and was voted the Most Valuable Runner. She took her track skills to the Philadelphia Marathon which she ran, and completed, in 2017.

Madison was the President of the National Honor Society, Vice President of the Science Olympiad Club and part of Model United Nations. Her volunteer activities were vast and varied. One of the most interesting was her involvement with the Appalachia Service Project where she worked with families in need to improve their daily lives.

Madison plans to major in Biology on the pre-med track. She will represent the Philadelphia Area very well and we are proud to have her as a scholarship recipient.

Peter Leibrandt is from Havertown, PA, and a recent graduate of Haverford High School where he excelled in a variety of activities. He was a member of the cross country and spring track and field team and in his senior year was named captain of the cross country team.

Academically, he was a member of the National Honor Society, the National Business Honor Society, the Spanish National Honor Society and was also a silver medalist for the National Spanish Examination. He also received the President’s Award for Academic Excellence.

Outside of school, Peter was an active volunteer with his local recreation center, the Philadelphia Rock n Roll half marathon, and a summer day camp. He will major in Logistics Management at the Fisher College of Business.

Previous Recipients

2020: Aidan Gallagher, Sophia Reeder

2019: Allison Gumienny, Allison Michaels

2018: Natalie Valko, Anna Carroll

2017: Kylie Crovetti, Nathan Scranton

2016: Ashley Diggins, Katherine Burhop

2015: Alexandra Haeflein, Natassja Boham

2014: Cassandra Dula, Kyle Kearney

2013: Brian Kulp, Kieran Teppen

2012: Katie Williamson, Mike Strauch

2011: Caroline Hathaway, Greg Kemper

2010: Patrick Schaffer

2009: Jillian Gonzalez